Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Close Races Highlight Dawson County Election

Thursday, November 8, 2018

Attention focused upon many contested races throughout Dawson County during the General Election Tuesday. The voter turnout was stellar throughout Dawson County with over 8,300 ballots counted out of 13,548 registered voters, good enough for a 61 percent voter turnout.
In the highly contested race for Mayor of Cozad, Marcus Kloepping got 699 votes to incumbent Nancy Meyer’s total of 407 votes.
In the race for the Cozad School Board openings, the three candidates that unofficially earned seats at the table included: Judy Eggleston (928), John A. Peden (843) and Kiley Goff (806). Edd Albrecht had 770 total votes to keep the race close and be in the mix as well.
Cozad City Council Incumbents Deb Leahy (East Ward) and Brian Montgomery (West Ward) won back their seats with 473 and 488 votes, respectively.
In the Lexington School Board race Travis Maloley (1,434), Roger Reutlinger (1,400) and Garth Mins (1,382) all received nods with three vacancies needing filled.
Lexington City County races saw John Fagot (1,249) and John Salem (896) as the leading vote getters.
For the two-year opening on the Lexington City Council, Steven H. Smith led the voting with 1,311 votes.
In the race for City of Gothenburg Council, Jay Richeson (East Ward) and Verlin Janssen (West Ward) were the leading vote getters with 485 and 470 votes, respectively.
Uncontested, Joyce Hudson was the victor in the Mayor race in Gothenburg with 977 votes.
In the race for Gothenburg School Board, Nathan Wyatt (1,028), Jon Hudson (1,015) and Devin Brundage (914) will fill the three open seats.
In the battle for the three open seats on the Eustis/Farnam School Board, Tyler Pieper (114), Sharon Portenier (103) and Neil Jack (73) were the leading vote getters unofficially. Michelle Fasse had (69) votes and Shannon Rupe received 58 votes.
In the race for Village of Farnam, every vote counted as unofficially, Ryan Schurr (54) and Tracy Adkisson (37) led the voting with Dave Finch close behind with (36) votes.
The contested race for NPPD Board of Directors subdivision 6, Leon Lutkemeier had 2,899 votes with Ed Schrock racking up 2,467 votes in Dawson County.